Firefox’s pageshow and pagehide events not DOM2 events-compatible?

These events sound quite interesting and author friendly. But unless I'm missing something their current implementation in Firefox simply sucks!

I tried

document.addEventListener( 'pageShow', function(e){ log('pageshow fired'); }, false );
document.addEventListener( 'pageHide', function(e){ log('pagehide fired'); }, false );

No go. Then I tried window.addEventListener but that doesn't work either. Finally, I looked at the sample code and noticed it only shows DOM0-style event handlers –

<body onPageShow="..."

. :yuck: Really?? That makes the events pretty useless. I would like Opera to support similar events but Firefox's implementation looks too broken to copy. Tell me I'm missing something..

4 thoughts on “Firefox’s pageshow and pagehide events not DOM2 events-compatible?

  1. Did you try adding the event listeners to the body instead of the document? Or perhaps the window instead? Remember that FF's DOM events are broken wrt document. They map body to window, and ignore the document.

  2. sypasche: thanks! 🙂 I tried all lower case with document.addEventListener and then I tried camel case before trying window.addEventListener .. 😎

Leave a Reply

